skip navigation
NMWAY Wrestling

California High School Roundup

By AWP, 01/25/16, 11:15PM EST


Poway High captures the Raul Huerta Memorial team title for a fifth consecutive year

MORENO VALLEY – The Raul Huerta Memorial is a tournament that gives programs and individuals in Southern California an opportunity to heighten up their technique prior to the post season. Team champions for a fifth straight year was the Mean Green Machine of Poway High. The Titans advanced 10 wrestlers to the finals and won five weight classes Jacob Allen (106s), Chase Zollman (120s), D.J. Garcia (145), Hampton Boyd (160s) and Celso Silva at 170 pounds. The Titans also swept the awards as Garcia was awarded the MVP Lower Weights, Hampton the MVP of the Upper Weights, and Chase Zollmann was the recipient of the Champion of Champions award with six falls in the tournament.

Beaumont’s Oscar Ramirez (113s) had a great weekend that saw him become a champion of this event with four falls and a decision. The last champion to win this tournament for the Cougars was Terrill Sidener in 2012. During his run through the tournament he defeated 2015 state qualifier, Ryan Ritchie (Westview) 6-3 before pinning Cameron Santiago (Poway) in exactly a minute of their respective match. Two outstanding wrestlers from the Southern Section met up at 126 pounds - Norberto Buenrostro (Citrus Hill) and Aaron Diaz of Canyon Springs. With the score tied at 1 late in the third period, Buenrostro took Diaz down and was looking like he was going to win the match. However, with 10 seconds left in the match, Diaz scored a reversal to take the match into sudden victory. In the overtime period Buenrosto got the takedown in 20 seconds to win weight class.

At 132 pounds, Brandon Kier (Poway) ranked # 4 (126s) in the state, and Trence Gillem (Helix) ranked # 5 (132s) met in the finals for an opportunity to acquire an individual championship. The match was won by Gillem as a takedown made the difference in the match.

Buchanan High dominates the field at Mid-Cals

GILROY – The No. 1 ranked team in the state of California showcased their talent on Saturday as they won the tournament with 7 champions and 13 place winners. Buchanan won the tournament with a total of 536 points, defeating runner-up Gilroy (317.5). Clovis North (242.5), Frontier (204) and Clovis West (202.5) rounded out the top five teams.

Champions for Buchanan were Ethan Leake (113s), Durbin Lloren (132s), Greg Gaxiola (147s), Abner Romero (162s), Cade Belshay (170s), Anthony Montalvo (182s) and Zak Levatino at 285 pounds.

Leake started things off for the Bears in the championship round as he won a tough (5-4) match over 2014 state medalist, Javier Alaniz of Clovis West. At 134 pounds, team captain and leader D.J. Lloren, showed those in attendance why he is “the man to beat” at this weight as he displayed excellent technique to outmaneuver the # 2 ranked wrestler in the state Alex Felix of Gilroy 10-3.

Gaxiola, and Romero finished the tournament with four falls and a technical-fall in their championship matches, while Montalvo had five falls in the tournament, including a 36 second pin in the finals. Up next for the Bears is a dual-meet on Thursday against the # 8 ranked team in the nation Clovis High.

Freshman sensation, Jaden Abas (Frontier) was impressive in the finals of the tournament as he defeated state medalist Isaiah Perez (Dinuba) 7-5 to claim his first Mid-Cal’s tournament. Prior to meeting up with Perez, Abas defeated 2015 tournament runner-up Adrian Marrufo (Dos Palos) 6-2 in the semifinals.

Pinchedwatana leads Mayfair High to a championship team title at the Sam Boyd Tournament

MORRO BAY - For the first time ever in the rich wrestling tradition of Mayfair High, the Monsoons won the 62nd Annual Sam Boyd tournament in dominating fashion. With eight medal winners and a champion in Justin Pichedwatana (160s), Mayfair was able to fight off a stiff challenge from Calvary Chapel-Santa Ana to win the event with 204.5 points. The Churchboyz finished as runner-ups with 199.5 points, followed by Madera (175.5), Madera South (174) and Central (162.5) to round out the top five teams in the tournament. Jacob Alcobendas also advanced to the finals of the event for the Monsoons, but lost a tough 5-3 match to Johnny Knowles of Calvary Chapel.

Calvary Chapel’s Justin Thomas (170) was presented with the MVP Upper Weights award as he finished the tournament with five falls, and pinned state qualifier Jonathan Hunter (Golden Valley) in the first period of their championship bout. Elijah Palacio (113s), Luciano Arroyo (120s) and Johnny Knowles (145s) wrestled up a weight class this past weekend.

Grant Pass High (OR) runs away with the team title in the North Coast Classic Tournament

EUREKA – More than 24 teams packed the Jay Willard Gymnasium in Eureka High School to witness a spectacle of great wrestling and technique. Team champions were Grant Pass High from the state of Oregon with 210 points. The Cavemen won five individual titles, as well as one third and one fourth.

Sutter High came in second at 184.5 with a pair of champions in Jimmy Heryford (106s) and Mike Adams (132s), two second placers and three in third place, followed by Orland’s 153 points and three champions Ricky Landeros (120s), Yonathan Esquibel (126s) and Steven Abbott (170s) and one third place. Host Eureka placed fourth in the team standings with 147 points, two finalist and one third place.

The Northern Section had a great showing as they won 8 out of the 14 contested matches on Saturday evening. Northern State University recruit, Kenny Jones (Lassen) made fast work of Chase Wimer (Corning) ranked # 2 (145) in the Northern Section, 15-0 to claim the first of two titles for Lassen High. The 160 pound finals feature a bout between Rodney Kincaid (Anderson) and Noah Lindeman (Lassen), ranked # 2 and # 3 in the Norther Section. In the end, Kinkaid took home the title as he defeated Lindeman 17-5.