skip navigation
NMWAY Wrestling

Will The St. Edward All-American Streak Continue In St. Louis?

By OWN Staff, 03/16/17, 10:00AM EDT


Five Eagle Alum in the Championship Field

It's a streak in college wrestling that no matter what HAS to be talked about each and every year, not because it's the legendary powerhouse program but because of the amazing feat that it is.

St. Edward alum will be looking to make it 28 straight years of Eagle All-Americans in the D1 NCAA ranks and 38 years of total All-Americans.  The break of a D1 All-American was Mike Mason in 1990.  Mason was 7th for Ashland at 177 pounds.  

This year the insane All-American streak will hinge on five former Eagles.  

141:  #1 Seed Dean Heil / Oklahoma State  

149:  Unseeded Nick Barber / Eastern Michigan

149:  Unseeded Hunter Ladnier / Harvard

157:  #10 Seed Colin Heffernan / Central Michigan

285:  #3 Seed Ty Walz / Virginia Tech

Heil and Walz are both 2X All-Americans, while Heil is the defending National Champion at 141.  Of interest, Heil and his young brother Josh are both in the 141 bracket.  

Another impressive note is that two former Eagle State Champions are head coaches in the Big Ten.  4X Iowa All-American Jim Heffernan will be leading Illinois into the championships in his 8th year as head coach, and 3X Indiana All-American Roger Chandler leads Michigan State into St. Louis in his first year as head coach for the Spartans.  


1980: Jeff Golz                                                                                                        

1982: Mike Elinsky

1983: Jim Heffernan

1984: Tom Diamond, Greg Elinsky, Jim Mason

1985: Greg Elinsky, Jim Heffernan, David Held

1986: Greg Elinsky, Jim Heffernan, Greg Wright, David Held

1987: Greg Elinsky, Jim Heffernan, John Heffernan

1988: John Heffernan, Terry Kennedy

1989: Terry Kennedy

1990: Mike Mason

1991: Alan Fried

1992: Alan Fried, Duke McKean

1993: Rick Hepp, Duke McKean

1994: Alan Fried, Rick Hepp

1995: Roger Chandler, Rick Hepp
1996: Roger Chandler

1997: Roger Chandler

1998: Sam Neider

1999: Andy Hrovat, Sam Neider, Zach Thompson

2000: Zach Thompson

2001: Andy Hrovat, Mike Kulczycki, Gray Maynard, Yoshi Nakamura

2002: Ryan Bertin, Andy Hrovat, Gray Maynard, Yoshi Nakamura

2003: Ryan Bertin, Gray Maynard

2004: Ryan Bertin, Mark Jayne

2005: Ryan Bertin, Mark Jayne

2006: Ryan Lang

2007: Ryan Lang, Lance Palmer

2008: Lance Palmer

2009: Lance Palmer

2010: Lance Palmer

2011: Chris Honeycutt

2012: Chris Honeycutt

2013: Nick Sulzer

2014: Nick Sulzer

2015: Dean Heil, Nick Sulzer, Ty Walz

2016: Dean Heil, Ty Walz